Shoot for my Friend: Sarah

Jankster

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Did a little shoot for a friend. i dont do a lot of people photography so im pretty new to this. im pretty happy with the way most of them came out. i know they arent amazing but im still learning :D C&C is always welcome and thanks for looking!

4252238262_0be2891f65.jpg

4252241308_1112b577a6.jpg

4252243910_061321c681.jpg

4252252248_cd58848dfd.jpg

4251771649_9515026432.jpg

I think she'll be pleased with your shots. She has lovely hair, by the way.

Personally it bothers me where her left eye is half-covered by her hair, it would have been better to keep it off the eyes completely.

Shooting in direct sunlight can give horrible, harsh shadows - but you've avoided this quite well. However on the third and fifth shots, reflecting (or flashing) a little more light into the shadow side of the face would have given a more flattering look.

The poses in the first three shots work great for me. In the fourth, her shoulders are turned too far from the camera putting some unflattering folds in her neck as she's had to turn her head and neck too far back toward the camera. If she'd sat the same way but with her head in profile view (to match the dog!) - perhaps looking into the distance - it would have looked more natural.

thanks for the feedback! i appreciate it. i was using my sb600 on camera for the first time shooting a person so i havent quite got the hang of it. ive still got a lot of work to do on my ppl shots!

I think you did an excellent job of synchro-sunlight work, especially for a beginner; I have seen much poorer work being sold by the new generation of "professional 'fata'gra'phers" shooting engagement,wedding,and family portraiture gigs. Seriously, very good synchro-sun light work!