shooting in a live music venue

clickclicksnap

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
so a noob question... i'm new to the forums and i just want to say i've been very impressed with what i've seen here... on to the point... i've been shooting for a few years and have mainly done portraits, extreme sports shots and lots of random conceptual stuff... i play in a band locally and would like to shoot other bands that we play with but i have some questions... lighting can be a big issue (what with no house lights and lots of colourful stage lights) and alot of the venues in my town don't allow flash photog... i have a rebel xt with the 18 - 55 that came with it, a 50mm 1.8 and i'm in the process of getting a 70 - 200 f2.0... any tips or tricks for shooting in this kind of environment would be fantastic... thanks guys...

Well since it is going to be low light, use the 50 f/1.8 because you can allow more light in and use a faster shutter speed.

cool solid advice... thats what i was thinking anyway... thanks for the help...

I shoot primarily live concert photos, so I'll give you some pointers that I've learned from experience. First of all: invest in fast glass. I never enter any venue with anything slower than an f/2.8 constant-aperture lens hanging off the front of my camera, and on many occassions, I've been forced to resort to using a 50mm f/1.4 prime. Second: I'm not sure what your camera's capabilities are, but I always have my ISO set at 1600 for live concerts. I can set my KM5D to 3200, but the noise is terrible. 1600 with this camera is perfectly acceptable, and I can get gallery-quality prints made as large as 20"x30" with a 6mp JPEG image.