Shooting in RAW

Dryfly

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Well, I turned the camera to RAW on the weekend and took some photos (CanonD40) when I downloaded them, XP would not file them, photoshop did and the files are called CS2. Not undrstanding how it all worked, I tried to open the file using windows picture viewr and it would not open. I had to get a plug in for photoshop and when I followed the links and downloaded the plug in, I opened th files using photoshop and I suddenly had a new window in which I could adjust levels.

This is what stunned me. I expected to see beautiful clear pictures and to my surprise they were grainy, overexposed and did not look good at all. I started playing with the new set of slides for levels and to my amazement the photo started to look like a shot I would normally take in JPEG. Now, Is this normal? or should I be getting the result I want when taking the photo in RAW by having correct settings in the camera at the instant I take the photo or is this how RAW works, you have to adjust levels to suit yourself. I could not believe the transformation. I also worked out I could then save the image as a JPEG file, should I be saving in another format?

Thanks for any advice.

I had the same issue when I shot RAW the first time with my 40D and nobody here could help me. I suppose you're using PhotoShop. I downloaded the plugin and then updated PS to the newest version enabling it. I used Bridge and I had to open the image file CR2's in Photoshop to make them readable in Bridge and regular apps.

I don't understand why your pictures were blurry, grainy, and overexposed. It must have had something to do with the in camera settings. What was the ISO at? If it were at ISO 800, that might be part of your problem. Try going out and shooting automatic, yes i said it :blushing:. This way you can tell if it was your choices of in camera settings or your conversion.