Shooting Interior Pantries and Closets

mollybrown

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi all. I'm new here. I'm still a beginner even though I've been trying to figure out my camera for years!

I'm curious if you all can help me figure out how to take decent photos of interior pantries and closets for business I'm starting. I won't be able to set up a bunch of lights or anything. I'll need to take quick photos but I can't seem to get the lighting right.

I'd like to take photos that looks similar to the ones on this site: PORTFOLIO

Just nice well lit crisp photos without a bunch of shadows. With an easy setup. Too much to ask?

Can anyone share some ideas? Thanks in advance!

...Just nice well lit crisp photos without a bunch of shadows. With an easy setup. Too much to ask?
Probably, yes. Photography is like make up. A lot of time, effort and experience goes into a project to make it look like nothing was done at all. In the examples to which you've linked, many appear to have been lit by two light sources, probably fairly close and probably quite diffused (relatively large modifiers). You don't indicate what, if any lighting gear you have, but you will need, at a MINIMUM, one strobe (an inexpensive speedlight will do), a large modifier (32 - 40" shoot-through umbrella would work), a light stand and trigger. Ideally two or more lights, but you could do kit reasonably with one. The key will be to have the source as close as practical to the subject, and to use as large a diffuser as possible.

TWO equally-powerful light sources if used not quite properly, can create unappealing, odd-looking, conflicting shadows, one shadow on one side of say a spray cooking oil can, and another shadow on the opposite side...that is the biggest danger of using two lights for a person who places two lights in a simple "45-degree equal" type setup or who does not know how to light with a main and a fill-light.