Shooting landscapes at night

LeftRightLeft

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I'm an absolut noob with dslrs, anyway decided to take some pics at night of landscapes... i dont have a tripod and took pictures by changing the apeture and shutter speed.. the pics i took were blurred and was wondering if there was anything else i could to take night pics without a tripod or was a tripod the only solution?

A tripod is going to be your best solution. For long exposures (which are required at night to let more light reach the sensor) the camera needs to remain perfectly still to eliminate any blur caused by camera shake.

You could always find something else solid to put the camera on, but I'd hate to have my dSLR on the edge of a rock and a nice gust of wind knock it off...not a great choice...

One other thing to consider (once you have a tripod) is that you'll want to get a remote shutter for your camera or set the self-timer for your night shots. That way you're not touching the camera when it actually takes the picture and eliminates any chance of camera shake.

JDS is right, the solution to your problem is to fire the camera without touching it. You could even use a bean bag and fire it with the self timer...but you can't hold it in your hands.

The rule of thumb for when you are shooting hand held is this; The shutter speed should be equal to or faster than the focal length of the lens. So if the lens is 50mm, then you should be shooting with a shutter speed faster than 1/50 (1/60 should do). That was the rule with 35mm film anyway...with the smaller sensors in most DSLR cameras, they say the rule should be multiplied by the crop factor which is probably 1.5 or 1.6 for your camera. So with a 50mm lens, your shutter speed should be 1/80 (1/90).