Shooting with an orange filter

ahelg

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I got some free Delta 400 film with a magazine today and thought I'd try it out tomorrow. Now I've never used B&W film before so a few questions.

I heard that using exposure compensation at around -1/2 will give me darker slightly more dramatic images. True?

I've got an orange filter lying around. What does this do, and would I benefit from using it while photographing durham cathedral?

I've heard that exposure compensation is necesarry when using a filter, as less light gets throug. Won't the meter compensate for this?

Negative film benefits more from overexposure, not underexposure. You should always expose for shadow detail, develop for the highlights. Most often, photographers shooting color slide film will underexpose by a 1/2 stop to render the colors a bit more saturated. I take it though that you won't be developing and printing this yourself. No matter what you do, you should bracket your exposures. Try a 1/2 under, but also try up to a stop over.

An orange filter will add contrast to your scene. Oranges and reds in the scene will pass through the filter and be given more exposure, will opposite colors, like cyans and blues will appear darker. Your blue/cyan skies will appear darker. If you are photographing the outside of a cathedral, it might be usefull to darken the sky. Don't shoot during midday. Your most successfull photos will come in early morning, or late evening (just before sunset).

As for compensating for the filter factor, as long as it is on the lens and you are metering through the lens, your meter will be affected by the filter, and you can meter normally.