Shopping List...

ErikDornes

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello guys!

I've been checking TPF for a while now, but this is my first post, so please go gentle on me if I'm posting in the wrong section.

Anyway, I'm kind of new to the photographic world, having bought my camera a couple of monthes ago. Now, I'm on to buy some more gear, but wanted to ask what should I buy first.

I have a Canon EOS 500D, and a 18-55mm EFS Canon Lens. My to-buy-list is as follows:

- Other lenses (maybe a Telephoto or a semi-telephoto?)
- A Tripod (a must have...)
- Filters (ND Filters, etc)
- Flash gear

I was hoping you guys could help me and steer my shopping in the right direction... in what order should those itens be bought? And is there any other stuff I should get?

Thanks

It would really depend on what your needs are
- other lenses if you need something wider or longer than the 18-55
- if you are doing a lot of exposures under 1/80, get the tripod
- if you are doing a lot of landscape or need to cut the amount of light get the filters
- do you need a flash or do you enjoy shooting in natural light? Are you working in portraiture at all?

If you are just looking to shop, a filter will set you back a lot less than a new lens or lighting gear. But really, to be helpful, you would have to let us know what it is you like to shoot or what effect you are trying to achieve.

Well, I'm mainly an outside photographer... I like to take photos with natural light, but an external flash would be nice to do some filling and such. I like doing landscapes and urban shooting, and I'm trying to polish my minimalistic photography. Being a complete amateur, that's pretty much all I know about my style of photography... I'm still practicing and trying to get used to the camera. I like to compose my photos rather than just snapshot the moment.

That is the hard part for me , Trying to learn composition