Short term camera/gear insurance

crimbfighter

TPF Supporters
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I'm travelling to the Caribbean next month, and am planning to bring the bulk of my camera gear with me. Even though I would love to think that I'll be able to protect it at all times, or implicitly trust the staff at the hotel, ect, ect, I know there's a chance it may still meet it's doom for any one of a thousand reasons. Does anyone know of any companies that sell short term insurance policies for camera gear? Preferably ones that cover not only theft, but also loss or accidental damage. I don't have a fortune in gear, but it might as well be if I had to try to replace it..

Thanks in advance!

Not being an insurance agent, I doubt they would expend the time or energy needed to establish a policy for anything less than a one year term. As a 'rider' to my homeowners policy, specifically described (including serial numbers) photography equipment costs about $10-15 per $1000 value per year. It's really not that expensive. And what's to prevent your gear from getting dropped/stolen/'out for a swim' when you're not in the Caribbean?

Contact your travel agent; there may be travel-specific insurance which will include camera equipment, 'though it may have a fairly low max-value ceiling.

I also have a 'rider' to my homeowners policy which covers my camera equipment against theft and damage for ~$1.20 per $100 covered (per year). Which is ~$60 for every $5,000 in equipment. Also has a $0 deductible.

If you haven't already I'd double check your homeowners policy as they don't always cover camera equipment over a certain dollar amount without additional coverage (which was my case).

BTW I'm with State Farm.