Should I drop the money to start a photo business?

Fingtam

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi everyone, this is my first post on these forums.
I fell in love with photography when I was in high school. I bought a modest Nikon D40, which was the only DSLR I could afford at the time, and accumulated a few lenses and other equipment before I graduated. I would have loved to have pursued photography more seriously, but good photography equipment is EXPENSIVE. Especially when you're sixteen making minimum wage at your uncle's Bait shop.
Fast forward a few years, and I am now 22. I am currently serving in the Marine Corps and I'm about to be deployed to the Horn of Africa for about eight months. While I'm overseas I'll be making extra pay for living in hazardous conditions, and obviously I won't have much to blow my money on while I'm over there. Most guys come back from deployments like this with about $20,000 and then buy a new car or blow it all on booze and women.
Several of my closest friends are full time photographers with no other source of income, and for the last few days I've been formulating this idea in my head that I could get into the business as a side job. So I went online, looked at some camera and lens reviews, pulled up Microsoft Excel, and calculated that I could set myself up with a pretty sweet set up of new equipment for about $13,000 that includes everything I need (ok, want). The specific camera I'm thinking about is the Nikon D3.