Should I get a 35mm Camera?

Hegs

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi Im a student filmmaker (tho ive never shot a frame of celuloid in my life - Ive only ever used digital). Im wanting to get into photography, and since film is still used quite a lot in the motion picture industry, a 35mm still camera might be a good way to get a feel for film (as opposed to spending 1000$ to shoot 10 minutes of motion picture film!). But apart from that Id just like to get good at photography and takes nice photos.

Being a poor student, what I was wondering is:
Do you think I should get a 2nd-hand 35mm camera cheaplyoff eBay, or is it just not worth it nowadays and should I bite the bullet and save up for, say, a Nikon d80? What sort of quality 35mm camera can u get for around 150$ US on eBay and how does this compare to, for ex, the D80 range of DSLR?

If u think 35mm is the way to go, do u have any recommendations?

Many thx (great site btw!)

If you go 35mm, find a used F80 or N80, they're cheap and not professional build, but they can do 90% of what the pro bodies can do. I'm sifting through the pawn shops here for them. Because they're so cheap, you can get prett good lenses too without going broke.

A used N80/F80 with the Nikkor 50mm f/1.8D is a little under $250 and will give you a good idea how film reacts to light in comparison to a sensor, as long as you develop and print yourself. none of that 1 hour photo junk becuase they scan the negatives and unless you get a really good loupe defeats the whole purpose.

real Black and white film will give you the best idea, as sensors are more similar to transparency film.

Yeah a used F80 or something similar costs half as much as the average cheap digital point-n-shoot, and about 1/6 the cost of a D80. So even if you decide to get a digital SLR, consider a film one as well since they're so cheap; besides if you go for ones with the same lens mount (like the F80 and D80) you can use the same lenses on both.