Should I get IS lenses? Crystal-ball gazers needed.

Mihai

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I'm a noob (even before that - I don't even have an SLR yet) so the question may seem stupid: do you think that Canon IS is a temporary stop-gap or is here to stay.

It's not that the technology is not useful - from what I read (and it all makes sense) it's a very useful technology. I just question its implementation and the future of this implementation: it makes more sense to me to implement it in the body, not in the lens. In other words, it should shake the sensor, not the lens. I understand that this is feasible as other manufacturers (Minolta?) already do that, effectively transforming any ordinary lens into an IS lens.

Since the average serious photographer owns more lenses than bodies (at least I think so), it would make sense to implement this in the body, not in the lens.

If this is the case, I'd rather invest in high quality lenses without IS (say the 70-200 L) rather than on regular lenses with IS (say the 70-300 IS) and enjoy them on the new IS-enabled bodies.

Again, I'm a noob, so it may be total bull what I'm saying, so don't be harsh.

Thanks,
Mihai

Good question. I'm not sure anybody but the executives at Canon really know. I'd bet they are wishing that they had started putting IS into the bodies rather than the lenses...or at least we wish they did.

I say...go ahead and get the IS lenses. From the looks of things, Canon is incorporating IS into a lot more lenses so it seems they are committed to the technology. Even if they do put IS into their camera one day...there will still be a market for IS lenses because there are tons and tons of EOS bodies in circulation.

First, as a KM owner, i have found that the anti shake technology is DEFIANTLY worth it. As a KM owner, I also have the advantage of putting on any lens from any company as long as I have an adapter.