Should I..

Kibii

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Should I charge someone who wants me to take photos for them? Keep in mind I'm just a amateur photographer! I saw one photographer posted a screenshot of one page on web saying that amateur photographers should ask for money. And if I consider myself a photographer that I shouldn't do it for free. I just can't ask for money my best friend, but other people? Should I?

I mean, I want to charge but I don't know. I'm kinda scared if someone says something to me like my photos are not good enough for them to pay or something like that.. :/ Money would help me get new equipment also! What do you think? And how much should I charge? Per hours of per photo?

Sorry if this thread is in wrong place on forum. I'm new here:)

Welcome!

In this country, accepting money is the trigger to report your income and pay taxes on the income. I will advise you to not accept money until you have officially decided to own a business. If you really want to start a photography business, you should inquire with your government as to the legal requirements, write a business plan, and obtain professional assistance for taxes, insurance, legal forms, etc.

In addition to all the government regulations, there's a whole 'nother dynamic that comes in to play when you accept money for services from friends. If they like them, great, if they don't.... well, not so great. My suggestion would be (assuming that the actual job isn't a huge one) you do it and tell the friend that if he/she is happy with it, they can buy you a nice meal or take you out for a couple of drinks.

There are a few things to consider in this case, but I would say, if some one feels your work is good enough to pay you for it, then by all means go for it. If you enjoy photography why not make a business out of it!