silver gelatin help

rst

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
i have a photograph that recently acquired a ripple in the paper. sadly it is right in the middle of janis joplins forehead. the techs for the gallery say there isn't anything that can be done to smooth out the ripple, its a natural tendancy of silver gelatin prints to ripple like that, so i just have to suck it up. they deal mostly in apintings and i figured that photography experts might be a little more helpful. anyone have any ideas? i don't expect that it will be perfect, but any improvements would be great.
thanks in advance for any help.

when you say ripple, do you mean the paper is bent?

a natural tendancy to ripple, i have never seen that , and i have been doing silver printing for almost 60 years. I have seen fiber paper curl and not be flat unless it has been placed under weights or a dry mount press.

Usually "ripples" occur because of mis-handling of a print.

Is it mounted to a board or just a loose print, if it is loose you could try re-washing it and letting it air dry then place it under some heavy books, or have it dry mounting on a matt board which may hide the "ripple".

if it is a bend in the paper, it will never disappear. Put the photo in a frame behind a window with non glare glass and it may be hard to see.

Slow down here. You have a B&W print of Janis Japlin that has a ripple in it. That is common for fiber prints if they are not dry mounted on a matt board. The humidity effects the print and causes it to ripple or as we call it curl.

If you put that print in a dry mount press between 2 boards for a couple of minutes it will flatten right out. I'd mount it with dry mount tissue though on an acid free matt board and frame it. After all Janis Joplin pics are probably collectors items these days.

first of all, thanks for such quick responses.