SilverFast vs. VueScan

Josh66

Been spending a lot of time on here!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I've been using SilverFast for a few years now and pretty much have it figured out. I read in a few threads here people recommending VueScan, so I downloaded it (on the free trial now).

I see a lot of people (including VueScan's website) saying it's better than SilverFast.

Maybe it is, I don't know ... I can't figure it out, lol.

I've skimmed through the user guide, and looked over all of the menus. I can't figure out how to do things that are very simple in SilverFast. I can't even figure out how to make it show the histogram...

Is there something I'm missing, or is everything just buried in menus?

I can't find it if it is... I mean, I can't find how to change any settings like exposure, levels, contrast - anything like that...

I can generally figure software out pretty quickly, but this seems pretty basic to me unless the advanced features are hidden somewhere.

The one thing I do like about it so far is that it has (a lot) more film profiles than SilverFast does. One thing I don't like is that the files are huge compared to files of comparable resolution and in the same format as those from SilverFast.

A JPG from VueScan is the size of a TIFF from SilverFast. (About 50MB)

Anyone have any thoughts on this...? Is VueScan really that much better, or would I be better off sticking with what I know?

My initial impression of VueScan is that it's very basic film scanning software, without much editing ability... Seems more suited to documents than film...

The reason I ask is because I was thinking of upgrading to a better version of Silverfast, but before I pay that much ($400+), I wanted to explore other options...

So far, the only advantage VueScan seems to have is cost ($80). For what it seems like you get, I think I'd still rather have SilverFast though.

edit