slr or compact

easyscoob

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
i am a complete newbie to this but i want a camera thats easy to use but takes real good pictures.
i was either thinking of a samsung nv10 (10mp) or a 6mp digital slr

what i want to know is even tho the pixel are greater on the samsung will the slr still produce better pictures

also i wanted a camera that would do those shots where you hold the button down and it just takes loads of pictures

can anyone suggest a camera ? thanks guys

( i dont want to pay a fortune for it no more than say £350):D

Welcome to the forum.

even tho the pixel are greater on the samsung will the slr still produce better pictures
Yes, the DSLR will absolutely blow the samsung out of the water.

Look at the Canon 350D or 400D. Or maybe the Nikon D40 or D50.

Similar questions have been asked every day on this forum...I'm sure you will find plenty of good info with the search function.

thanks i will use search, im pretty new to forums, hell switching on the pc was a bit of an ordeal

ihat i want to know is even tho the pixel are greater on the samsung will the slr still produce better pictures

also i wanted a camera that would do those shots where you hold the button down and it just takes loads of pictures

DSLRs have larger sensors and larger pixels. Larger pixels usually mean less noise. So generally a DSLR does produce better quality photos. There are some compact cameras coming out in the near future that have sensors that are the same as in DSLRs. Assuming the lenses are good, they should be very similar image quality.

Then again it's not just resolution and pixel size that determines image quality. If you don't often print larger than 8"x12" then it might be hard to spot the difference between photos from a good compact and a DSLR.

If the size of the DSLR keeps you from carrying it or using it then it's not the best camera for you. It doesn't matter how good the image quality is on a photo that was never taken.