Small size "Darkroom"?

tevo

Recovering TPF Junkie
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am interested in starting to shoot film, as well as developing it. However, I have very little space for a 'Darkroom'. I have been told by friends that I can develop 35mm film in a relatively small container, and then simply scan the negatives and use them. Can someone point me in the right direction? I have zero experience with developing film / working with negatives / scanning negatives, and have next to no clue what I should get. I am also looking to stay as small as possible as I have very little room.

I am interested in starting to shoot film, as well as developing it. However, I have very little space for a 'Darkroom'. I have been told by friends that I can develop 35mm film in a relatively small container, and then simply scan the negatives and use them. Can someone point me in the right direction? I have zero experience with developing film / working with negatives / scanning negatives, and have next to no clue what I should get. I am also looking to stay as small as possible as I have very little room.

If you have zero experience I would recommend taking a class first.

But also go over and check out the forums at APUG (Analog Photography User Group) you will find much more info there about developing film.

http://apug.org

A class is not needed, maybe beneficial, but not needed.
There are several threads on this topic in the film section of this forum.
I recently started developing my own black and white film, trust me its not that hard to learn, but once you start can be very addicting.