Smoke

PhotoWrangler

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Website
www.themodernmutt.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I had absolutely nothing to do today, and I didn't feel like smelling like fixer, so I got out the old digital camera and played with smoke.

$Smoke.jpg$DSC_0065-Edit.jpg

That looks awesome... would love to give that a try myself but i am new to DSLR and dont have a lot of gear.. eventually though i will take a crack at it...wonder if you could do the same with an actual smoke exhaling the smoke slowly?

i liked it...can i suggest something...since it is natural for smoke to rise up and that too less patterned, but more spread with rising, please apply the same effect on such a stream of smoke ;)

will the regular old pop up flash work?
When I have done this, I liked it best with the flash to the side - so, no, the pop-up flash would not be able to do that. It doesn't necessarily have to be a flash though. Any bright light should work. The trick is to not let any of the light hit the background (assuming you want a black background).

I think he wants you to rotate it 90 degrees.

When I have done this, I liked it best with the flash to the side - so, no, the pop-up flash would not be able to do that. It doesn't necessarily have to be a flash though. Any bright light should work. The trick is to not let any of the light hit the background (assuming you want a black background).

So if i had my husband off camera with a flash light, could that be bright enough?

So if i had my husband off camera with a flash light, could that be bright enough?
Yes, that should work. You will have to play around with the shutter speed to get the exposure/smoke movement you want though.

I have done it with shop lights like you would use for working on your car in the garage. A flash is definitely more convenient though.