So......How so you make money?

bennielou

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
How do you make money, and are you ready to?

Sure I am, you may answer! Absolutely! I can do it! I have crazy mad skills, and I rock the planet!

Now, as an working photographer, I don't want to be a downer. I am here to give you tips, right? Unfortunately my tips won't be all, "get a camera and take some photos for money". I want everyone to learn and grow. I want everyone one of you who aspires to reach their dream.

Ok, so what you need to know. I'm going to go with wedding photography for the moment because that is my lead business, but I also get paid to do Commercial, Boudior, Kids, Maternity, Portraits, and Photojournalism.

Ok, so back to wedding photography, or people in general.

These are thing you might not think of:

1: Do you have two of everything?
2. Does the money you make take account for:
a. Your equipment
b. Your time
3. Do you have liabilty bonds?
4. Do you pay sales taxes, or did you just throw up a website and go into business?
5. Are you good at sales? Do you know what you should charge for your services, and once you zone that in, do you know if you are making a profit?
6. Where do you meet potential clients? A coffee shop? Where can they get to know YOU.
7. How will you get the word about about your business?
8. How will you avoid lawsuits in case someone is unhappy?
9. Is your business set up legally? Do you have a DBA? This is important if you own property.
10. When you give quotes for prints and soforth do you consider that you need to include design time, post processing time, printing, mailing, etc?
11. Do you understand that to do 30 jobs in one year, regardless what it is, you will need to spend aroung 300 hours doing the work? That means phone calls, e-mails, consults, shooting, editing, and delivering?
12. Do you have all the state required bonds, insurance, and permits?