So I lost my gear, what should I get...

FotoFrank

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Ok so I came out of work a few days ago and found my car had been broken into and a bunch of my stuff got stolen including all my camera stuff...

That being said, I used a Nikon D100 (my first DSLR) with a 28-200 f3.5 nikkor. I'm not sure what to replace it with, I haven't been shooting photography for too long but I'd like to pursue it more. (I'm a graphic designer). If I could I'd like to eventually maybe get into some modeling photography (out door stuff not with an inside setup), automotive photography, (more still shots not moving), and some weddings for some extra money.

IF I stick with Nikon I don't know whether to just get a D40 for now, maybe step it up to a D90, or what. I did talk to someone who highly suggested I get a D700 because it's a full frame camera.

Also is it worth it to get fixed prime lens like a 50mm or an 85mm over a zoom lens like my old 28-200?

Do you have insurance, and is it "replacement value".

I like my D40 just fine just to go out and shoot with.

I definitely recommend a nifty 50.

Right now I would suggest the D90 for someone not on a low budget, but doesn't want to spend a fortune either. The D90 has some of the most current updates to be on a Nikon DSLR. For digital this is fairly important. The D700 being full frame and lower pixel count has excellent noise / iso range. But if your not going to be doing indoor / outdoor low lighting shots. Really no advantage there. Being at least 2x the D90 price, not so sure it is such a good camera to recommend to someone who is still in the beginning stages of photography. The D90 will be a nice upgrade from your D100.