So I need a bit critique.. on portrait

vienhuynh

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Before I wasn't interested in photography, but when I started dating my gf, I got hook as she loves getting picture taken. I was an absolute noob and has no idea what to do, so I just shoot what I think oke. I mainly do portrait shoot, so I want to improve on this area. So here I go

This is taken around 1 year ago with canon T1i, stock lens from my old XTi, EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6. I don't remember the mode nor anything, and original file is lost, this one I downloaded from facebook..... I just think the lighting is good, so I took it.
$bx bachin.jpg

This is more recently, and the setting is:
Canon T1i, /5.6, 1/200sec, ISO-100, focal length 50mm. Using sigma 500 f1.4. So can you guys tell me whether I improve over time, and what else is need to know? Thank you for your feedback.
$IMG_2776.jpg

All handheld btw.

#1 would have benefitted from a lower camera position, and some fill flash. Also tighter frame in portrait format. (vertical)
#2 Please use a tripod and turn the camera to vertical format. Again fill flash.

#1 would have benefitted from a lower camera position, and some fill flash. Also tighter frame in portrait format. (vertical)
#2 Please use a tripod and turn the camera to vertical format. Again fill flash.

Can you elaborate why I need flash in both cases and why a vertical format would be better?

Viet? I think it must be in the blood, every Viet woman loves her photo taken ;)

She's beautiful. Try to not center her in the frame for every shot. Read about "rule of thirds".

Welcome to the forum, enjoy!

Can you elaborate why I need flash in both cases and why a vertical format would be better?

If your subject is mostly vertical, as is a person who is standing, you should frame in vertical format to focus our attention on your subject instead of the background.