So I want to shoot some people . . .

Canon Fan said:
Maybe I'll just walk in with this . . .

fs122.jpg

And say "freeze sucka's!" :lol:

Sure would be some unique expressions before my ride to jail!
That adds a new meaning to shooting your subject. :lol:

I like the idea of 'business' cards... I'm going to make some up for myself despite being an (obvious!) amatuer.

Mine will have only my name, stating that I am an amateur photographer, and my Email Address. The few times I have mustered the minerals to actually ask someone if I can shoot them, and they said yes, I was always left feeling like the least I could do is give them a copy.

Cheaper/easier and much more convenient for me to simply give them my E-dress and tell them to email me. right?

If you're serious about it, I wouldn't put your name and email address on a biz card. I'd start an on-line gallery to post your pictures to, then put your name and URL on the biz card. You'll go crazy trying to email people pictures all the time, then they'll want you to send them prints and stuff. I get that all the time when I take pictures at parties (company parties, kids Bday parties, etc). Friends wanting prints. I just post a bunch of shots into an online album and give out the URL.

but back to the original question, i think it's easiest to catch people from the side when they're not looking. you don't need a super long lens - my 105 on DSLR does pretty good from 10 or 15 feet. that said, i still feel pretty uncomfortable taking pics of strangers.

The URL instead of email sounds like a great idea. The only problem I can think of is that some people are still a little apprehensive about having thier picture posted on the internet.