So who does play with press type 2x3 and 4x5 cameras?

Soocom1

Been spending a lot of time on here!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Just curious as to who plays with these guys and what you do with them..

For the moment, my Baby Graphic is sitting on a shelf, waiting for me to learn how to use it. I am in a bit of a photo slump and also juggling far too many things at the moment, so it's going to have to wait a bit longer.

In 2014 I bought a 1938 baby Speed Graphic, and used it mostly with a Linhof 6x6 rollfilm back. It was a lot of fun using it, and the physical act of taking photos with the old-timer was enjoyable.

I've been using LF cameras for well over 40 years, and have quire a few.

These days I also regularly use press cameras I have 2 Speed Graphics a pre-Anniversary and a Pacemaker however I prefer my Super Graphic as it has better movements and it's great for hand held work

My pre-Anniversarv Speed Graphic gets mostly used used with a Petzval, a 420mm Telephoto and TTH Cooke Triplet.

I have a 6x9 Busch Pressman, most models aren't friendly in terms of lenses, mine uses 4 screw bolts to hold the lens board in place so changing lenses in the field would be slow. In addition the lens board and aperture of the front standard are small so restricts the choice of lenses.

When I went to Canada 2½ years ago I made myself a a 6x7 camera which was much more practical, I used the focus track and front standard from Pacemaker Graphics .

Ian

Last edited:
Some years back, I picked up a Mamiya Super 23, with a grip and 2 backs, for a song. The backs both need new seals, and the camera itself needs a good CLR and I've yet to spring for doing it.

I also have a 4x5 Tachihara that I've not played with in a while.

Just curious as to who plays with these guys and what you do with them..