laffles

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.theability.co.uk
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi there, great site here :)

I'm a digital illustrator/graphic designer and have been wanting a good DSLR for a while, so yesterday I took the plunge and bought the d7000 18-105 VR Kit as there was a weekend deal on a website with a load of free goodies, so it was slightly impulsive too (though I have read alot of reviews about it, even though I don't fully understand half of the stuff it does :( ) it should arrive tomorrow.

I'm starting to think maybe it was sliiiigtly overkill, for what I need. I usually collaborate with photographers or use stock imagery for my work, I purchased the camera so I can do everything myself..

here are some examples of the kind of thing I do to give you an idea:

various3.jpg

beautyf.jpg

My questions:

What's the print quality like with top quality Jpeg settings?

Is the 18-105 lens fine to keep me going as a noob?

What are the downfalls with the kit lens, and what are some good points about it?

What would be a good lens to buy next, an all round lens, I will be doing fashion shots to environments, buildings, cars etc..

What are some things things a newbie should know about this camera..

Sorry for all the questions, I really appreciate it if you've read this far, would love some help, thanks.

Dan

........... I usually collaborate with photographers or use stock imagery for my work, I purchased the camera so I can do everything myself..

Don't burn that bridge just yet. It's gonna be a while before you can 'do everything yourself'.

A long while.

hm, yes I'm not expecting to be an expert photographer at all, it's just my reason for purchasing the camera.

Thanks for the informative post, much appreciated.

To answer your questions:
What's the print quality like with top quality Jpeg settings?