Some questions re lenses

lkWinnipesaukee

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey guys, this is my first post. I just had a few questions.

I'm a HS photo student. I just bought a Canon EOS 650 (I know I know, old. But it was in mint condition and cheap!) with a Promaster 80-210mm lens. I'm trying to get my hands on a Canon DSLR, but thats another story.

It's great and everything, but I would like to know why the aperture only goes between 4.5 and 5.6. I can't really take a lot of pictures I would like to, such as anything at night without a tripod.

Are there any telephoto lenses out there that have a wider aperture range and fit the EOS/EF cameras (and that don't cost $621293482 ;))?

I'll probably have a million more questions i can't think of now, so I'll post em as I get them.

Thanks!

On many telephoto lenses, you will notice that the maximum aperture is not constant through out the focal range as in the case of your lens. It comes down to cheaper build quality and you get what you pay for. There are some affordable options out there. I have a sigma 70-200mm that has a max aperture of f/2.8 which is constant through out the entire focal range. It is a bit soft in terms of focus towards the end, but it's still 2.8. 2.8 is about as "fast" a lens as you will likely find in the affordable category. This lens retails for about $850 new from B&H. I found mine on ebay from "CametaAuctions" who is one of the more reputable dealers on ebay. I got it new for $599 for a pentax mount. I think they are now selling for $699.
The larger the aperture, generally the heavier the lens and the more complicated to build thus demanding a higher price.

Also, when a lens is described as 1:2.4, for example; does that mean that the aperture is FIXED at 2.4? Or is that the widest it can do?

Thanks

constant max, at 2.4, else it would probably say 1:2.4-5.6 or something. (ie it's the widest it can do at all focal lengths)