Some swamp shots from today

DoubleD-D40

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi All, I took some time out to do some shooting today locally and here are a few of the keepers from today. I am looking for C&C on everything from exposure to composition. I've only had my SLR for a week so be gentle but let me know what I need to focus on.

These were shot around 1:30 PM today, sunny and hot as hell!

Overall of the area
swamp3wa3.jpg

Interesting the way this tree has grown on the left side of the shot, its almost like someone bending over backwards with arms outstretched to the sky.

swamp2zy0.jpg

Left side of the bayou
swamp1dy0.jpg

These were all shot in Aperature Priority mode at F11 on my D40

Hey dd40, I'm new to photography so take what I say with a grain of salt. The first thing that comes to mind with the three pics is there seems to be a lack of main theme. the panoramic view probably looks cooler when your standing there. I live in Tennessee, it is also very green. I look around and say to myself : wow that looks cool, but the picture looks all green. Try zooming in closer. Like #3 if you could get in real tight with the bent tree off center to the left and little less sky, I think it would be a bit more interesting. I zoomed in close and that tree has all kinds of awesome roots around it that if brought into the pic would look very cool.
Overall good pics, just need a main focal point. Rock on!

Thanks Keith I definitely see your point.

I also have another question...I'm taking the family to the beach this coming weekend and was wondering what other do to keep sand out of their gear. Do you bring a sealable bag to store your gear or what? Any advice/settings on shooting beach pix?