Somewhat New to DSLR, but Need Things Explained In Simple Terms!

If this is a "Beginners Thread" can someone constitute exactly what you mean by "Beginner"? Beginners with their first photos? Beginners with their first cameras? I understand what the original poster is saying.

I know HTML coding - but HTML for Dummies is too "easy" and only writes stuff that I already know. I want something a little more advanced yet written in laymens terms.

A good majority of all of you have been here a lot longer than us and have far more experience than us and we come here seeking your expertise, but more often then not, I see ridicule to a newbie because they can't remember what aperture is or what exactly ISO is... heck! I'm still learning too! I still can't quite follow but I just keep reading and reading til I find someone who posts something in laymens terms.

Let me ask all you pros how long it took for you to comprehend photography?

I've looked at the For Dummies guides and they are a bit too basic for me and teach me nothing that I didn't know before. Like I said, I've been with this for roughly a year now. I just want a book to tell more than how to frame a photo.

Having myself started out with Digital SLR Cameras and Photography for dummies, I can tell you that if you don't understand the basics, then this is definitely not too advanced for you. It goes right from how a DSLR works to explaining composition, the basics of IR photography and a few trickier terms for beginners, such as Chromatic Abberation, hyperfocal distance and USM.

If this is a "Beginners Thread" can someone constitute exactly what you mean by "Beginner"? Beginners with their first photos? Beginners with their first cameras? I understand what the original poster is saying.

I know HTML coding - but HTML for Dummies is too "easy" and only writes stuff that I already know. I want something a little more advanced yet written in laymens terms.