Sony Alpha SLT-A77

truetifoso

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hello. I'm new to photography and would appreciate some help in choosing a new camera.

The camera will be used mostly to take pictures at my kids' sporting events. Between the two of them, they play tennis, basketball, baseball, and soccer.

I know enough to know that Nikon and Canon are the industry giants, but, that said, I saw the specs of the Sony Alpha SLT-A77, and for the price it seems that this camera blows away the comparable Nikon D300s and Canon 7D.

Am I missing something? Why does the Sony cost so much less but seemingly offers so much more?

Is there a reason I shouldn't get the Sony?

IMHO Sony offers the best value for the money. They also offer nice features for the amateur. Things a Pro would do on the computer, many of the Sonys do in camera. (HDR Panorama). Two things to watch out for are the electronic viewfinder. I felt the first generation EVF in the A55 was a bit crude. I have read that the newer EVF used in the A77 is a huge improvement. I would try it out in a store before deciding. Another issue that I'm concerned with on the A77 is the buffer size for burst shooting. It is only 18 images when shooting jpegs. This may or may not be a problem, continually shooting at 12 frames a second for 1.5 seconds isn't bad. If the camera locks up for 30-45 seconds while clearing the buffer then it's a deal killer for sports. This was a problem with the A55. I'm sure this issue has been addressed with the new camera. Bottom line is we won't know until we start seeing reviews with cameras with the final firmwares.

I was looking the jump ship on Sony because of the lack of an enthusiast level camera. The A77 is make me reconsidering jumping ship.

Sony has aggressively tried to place their target pricing below what the big two offer on all their cameras.
With the new A3/5/6/7/8?/9? SLT series they are trying to dominate the market with product.