Speedlite 550EX

Discussion in 'Canon Accessories' started by owura, Oct 20, 2012.

  1. owura

    owura TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    I bought a canon speedlite 550EX and tried to use it as a slave flash for my canon T1i camera but it's not firing. Is it compatible? Has anybody experienced this problem? Any help will go a long way. I am Frustrated.


     
  2. TCampbell

    TCampbell Been spending a lot of time on here!

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2012
    Messages:
    3,609
    Likes Received:
    1,551
    Location:
    Dearborn, MI
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    The 550 can operate as a master or slave unit. But what are you using as a master unit? A T1i has no built-in capability to be a master. You either need another flash on the camera hot-shoe that can operate as a master OR one of Canon's speedlite "transmitters".
     
  3. MLeeK

    MLeeK TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    Messages:
    6,761
    Likes Received:
    1,379
    Location:
    NY
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
  4. owura

    owura TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the response. I was using the camera build-in flash as the master. Your responses really helped.
     
  5. Big Mike

    Big Mike I am Big, I am Mike Staff Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2003
    Messages:
    33,901
    Likes Received:
    1,862
    Location:
    Edmonton
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit


    FYI, it is only the latest Canon cameras that have the ability/feature of built-in flash master. The T4i, the 7D come to mind, maybe a couple others...but certainly not the T1i.
     

Share This Page