Speedlite 580EX II Question

nsupanda

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am a beginner external flasher :lol:

Anyway, I have recently purchased the Canon Speedlite 580EX II and have been teaching myself how to use it. I've been reading the guides and searching online and I have taught myself the basics and I love practicing on it.

I've also been wanting a continuous light source and was wondering if the Speedlite can be set up to do that. If not, can you suggest one? Thanks!

A flash unit works by storing electricity and releasing into the bulb/tube to create a burst of light...something like the equivalent of 100,000 watts of regular incandescent lighting. So no, you can't use it as a constant light source.

Although, I do believe it has a 'modeling lamp' feature where it pulses the light continuously for a second or two. But that really eats the batteries and isn't for shooting with.

Why do you want a continuous light source?

Why do you want a continuous light source?

Just to practice with, and to see what can be done with it. Like I said, I'm new to external flashes and want to experiment with different kinds. Thanks for the information though!

You can set it to pulse, but it has a maximum amount of time it can pulse because of the heat build-up.

You can set it to pulse, but it has a maximum amount of time it can pulse because of the heat build-up.

You mean Stroboscopic flash. That really won't be any more useful than a single flash unless you're doing something that requires a stroboscopic effect. And besides, it also runs-down the battery, and can't be used nearly as often as a single pop because of, as you noted, heat. Just don't even try to use your 580 as a continuous source of light. It wasn't made for that.

If you want a continuous light source, go buy a work lamp from Rona or something. ;)