Speedlite question

Discussion in 'Canon Accessories' started by mabbus, Oct 17, 2012.

  1. mabbus

    mabbus TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,
    I was wondering if somebody can tell me what I am doing wrong. I have just started to take portrait images and was taking some of my daughter at the weekend. I was using 2 x 580 EXII's and 1 x 430 EXII. At first I set my speed to 1/250 at f8 and ISO 100 and ETTL using high-speed sync.

    To start everything was fine. Then staying with ETTL and f8, I set my speed to 1/200 and disabled high-speed sync and all my images were coming back completely dark. I have seen many tutorials where these settings are used, but I have no idea why mine are coming back dark. Is there something I need to set up in camera? I have the Canon 5D MIII.

    Bottom line is I only seem to get an image on high speed sync, and that can't be right?


    Thanks for any help
    Peter


     
  2. john5189

    john5189 TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2012
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Hereford
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    try 1/160 or slower shutter speed.
    The green light on the back of the flash/es should light to show the flashgun/s have fired.
     
  3. mabbus

    mabbus TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks John, I have tried all the way down to 1/60 but the same result. I know the flashes are triggering, just don't understand why I am getting black images, unless I have something in camera set wrong
     
  4. Dao

    Dao No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Messages:
    6,361
    Likes Received:
    450
    Location:
    St. Louis
    How did you trigger the flashes?

    If you are not using high speed sync, changing shutter speed has no impact at all. 1 pulse of flash is much faster than your shutter speed.
     
  5. JSER

    JSER TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012
    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Devon
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Can I suggest you get a flash meter, pre owned from ebay, any minolta is good, and use manual settings
     
  6. JSER

    JSER TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012
    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Devon
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    WHY are you using HSS ?????

    This is what HSS is for

    [​IMG]

    1/8000th of a second.

    You don't need HSS for portrait.
     
  7. mabbus

    mabbus TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm triggering the flashes with a ST-E2. I only used HSS because it's the only thing that would bring back anything. If I switch it off I am not getting other then a dark image, this is what I don't understand. I wouldn't normally use HSS for portraits.
     
  8. mabbus

    mabbus TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK, I decided to try the flash on camera and it's fine. The problem seems to be the ST-E2?

    I was also trying to use a monolite but I think the pre-flash was setting it off to early. It seems all my problems have been sorted by taking off the ST-E2 and switching the flash from ETTL to manual as now I get results from the flash and monolite.

    I am getting a phottix Odin at the end of the month, so will go into manual all the time, hopefully solving these issues. Dao's question on how am I triggering the flashes prompted me to think this route. So thanks for that.

    Thanks for the replies and the help
     
    Last edited: Oct 17, 2012
  9. Solarflare

    Solarflare No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    May 24, 2012
    Messages:
    2,820
    Likes Received:
    377
    Err yes you need HSS for portrait ?

    Only way to use fill flash in bright sunlight.

    My camera cant do HSS, thats one of the main reasons why I am thinking about getting a different one.
     
  10. Dao

    Dao No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Messages:
    6,361
    Likes Received:
    450
    Location:
    St. Louis


    I am not familiar with ST-E2, and I was worry about the "pre-flash" was the cause of the issue as well. I had a optical slave that suppose to work with pre-flash but since I shoot manual with flashes and never need pre-flash for AF or flash meter, so I do not how good that work.

    Personally I like radio trigger because it does not need line of sight and works well in bright sunny day as well.
     

Share This Page