Sports Photography

bramos1005

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello everyone,
I am using a Nikon D40x with a kit lens. I am new to the photo world. I am taking pictures of fights and fighters as they train. It's not a job, but we would like to use the photos for the company I am part owner of.
When I take the pics I get a lot of blurring from movement. What should I do, or purchase to help solve this issue. Any and all help is great. I have tried the sports setting but the results were not that good. I know it might be me. However I would like to know what I can do to help this.

Brandon

Crank up your ISO and set your aperture as wide as it goes.

the faster the shutter speed, the sharper the image. as suggested you may need to adjust the ISO with the lighting conditions and to ensure you can increase the shutter speed.

rule of thumb. shutter speed should be faster than the longest focal length of the lens your using.

you can do what those above mentioned, but really that kit lens is pretty crappy, and it's slow glass. you might have better luck with the 50mm f1.8 prime lens, which is relatively unexpensive. This will allow you to get more light onto the sensor, and use faster shutter speeds, and allow you to freeze the action.

of course the only downside of that would be that you will have to focus manually, as the D40 does not support auto focus for that lens.

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/247091-GREY/Nikon_2137_Normal_AF_Nikkor_50mm.html

Thanks everyone for those ideas and the speed of your responses. I do need a good lens. What lens would work well for a sporting event?

you really need a fast lens, i.e. a lens with an aperture of f2.8 or larger. (remember, a smaller number is a larger aperture)