Starter Lenses

damian_i15

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
As a starter what lenses should I be looking at? without expending too much money. ;)

I believe most beginners start off with the kit lens that comes with most DSLR's.

18-55 lens.

im a noob myself so take my advice with a grain of salt lol But when I asked the very same question, a lot of people told me a great lens to get ahold of would be the "nifty fifty". the 50mm f/1.8

right now I got the one that comes with all the rebel xt kits which is really not that good. I will be taking landscape and nature....most of the time

I started off with a 50mm lens. Worked fine.

I then moved on to a 28mm, 50mm, 28-135mm macro, 80-200mm telephoto and 2x doubler some weeks after. Make sure you get a bunch of the standard filters (red, UV, polarizing, etc), btw.

Thanks, What about this lens? Sigma 70-300mm f/4-5.6 DG Macro Telephoto Zoom Lens for Canon SLR Cameras for $120.00

that's a semi decent lens.
My recommendation is the 50mm 1.8. You will never have to much fun. Fast glass is a dream.

Stick with the kit lens.... as you shoot and learn keep in mind the following:

- around what focal lengths you enjoy shooting at?
- what type of pictures do you enjoy shooting the most?
- your budget moving forward.

What about the kit lens do you not like? Just because people post that it isn't a good lens doesn't mean that it is a bad lens...

Its like wine.... I'm a casual wine drinker so box wine taste just fine with my dinners. My buddy who is more of an expert can't stand the stuff.

Stick with the kit lens.... as you shoot and learn keep in mind the following:

- around what focal lengths you enjoy shooting at?
- what type of pictures do you enjoy shooting the most?
- your budget moving forward.

What about the kit lens do you not like? Just because people post that it isn't a good lens doesn't mean that it is a bad lens...