Starting up need advice...

Lemmon

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hello everyone its my first time around and I realy need some help.

Little about me:
I am 24 and living in Canada past photo exp. none I am web/graphic designer but photography I have only done few times in high school. So no real experience when it comes to this.

What I am thinking to do is take some photos and use them for my web sites and customers that I have will be able to buy them off me if they like them.

Money available for start equipment up to 2,000$ CAD so what would be suggested I realy need a camera that will be able to take photos in high resolution. Probably I am guessing I will only need a camera & flash.

I am not trying to sound stupid but I don't want a camera with a film and to develop my photos I need a digital with a card that I can just hook to my comp. and download the pics.

Thanks guys I realy hope someone will help me out.

Thanks once again

Welcome to the forum.

What will you be photographing? Not that that matters much for the camera choice...but it might influence which lens would be best for you.

A digital SLR camera is the way to go, IMO. The image quality is much better than a 'point & shoot' digi-cam...not to mention a whole list of other advantages.

The entry level DSLR cameras are very good...and will fit nicely into your budget. I'm a Canon user...so lets start there. The entry level DSLR is the Rebel XTi...very good camera, should be about $1000 CDN. Or, you could get the older version, the Rebel XT...for about $700, while stores still have them. The next level up, is the Canon D30...it's got a better body, with better ergonomics...but the image quality is on par (or just above) the XT. The newer XTi actually has more mega pixels and new technology like anti-dust sensor.