Stopping for that Perfect Shot...

St0nefrog

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I see alot of Threads about cameras and their specs, lenses, and such. This is a thread to kind of break up all the complicated mumbo jumbo.

I was just curious about what a serious photograper does to get that "perfect shot".

What I mean is, for example. I was driving today back towards my house and saw a nice sunset so I naturally stopped to take a couple photos. They came out nice, but that got me wondering. Do some of you just come across photo's more often then making time for photo sessions? It seems to me whenever I find something worth taking a picture of it's always by chance, and it doesnt happen as often as I'd like it to. For me the hardest thing is choosing something I would enjoy looking at as a picture, because I know a good 70% or more of my photo's will be pictures that only a few people besides my self will get to look at considering i'm not a professional photographer.

Well, I you have the trouble defining "perfect shot" because it is so subjective.

It all depends on a person's particular style, I tend to carry my camera everywhere and take pictures of what I see, while other like to do more planned out and set-up shots.

Again few shots are perfect. In my personal work I generally like to go on photo adventures. They are in the mornings. The location and subject are never decided upon 'till after I have had some coffee. I have great shots from commercial shoots. These photos are usually out takes and shooting while I am waiting for the client to show up.

My motto is too always be shooting.

Great shots are always there; You just have to take your time and be creative in the way you look at things.

Sometimes they do jump out at you and say "hey, look at me. I'm a great shot!" but quite often it'll just be the same great shot that everyone else is taking. It's still a great shot but it's just not that special.