Strange colours

Melnibone

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi,
My wife has a Finepix S9600 and she likes taking pictures of her flowers. Usually her S9600 captures the colours perfectly
but with this one plant...well the colour is way off. The pink flowers in the photo below should actually be a much darker
purple. She's only just getting to grips with digital photography and would normally leave most settings on 'auto' but with
this one she's tried changing the white balance and the ISO all to no avail. The photo was taken in fairly poor light
(it's the UK) and she tried when the sun came out but the purple still comes out pink. The foreground, background and
foliage colours are fine.
I guess my question is - is this normal with digital cameras and/or should she be adjusting something else? The manual is
not very helpful and in this case Google wasn't my friend.
We really are total newbies at this so please be gentle. :blushing: Thank you in advance for your advice.

Original_Dscf1804.jpg

Looks purple to me.

Changing the white balance will introduce various color casts if the light doesn't actually change.

I see purple.

If its supposed to be darker it could be either a monitor calibration problem and youre just not seing it right (But I doubt anything would be that far off)

Or maybe the large amount of dark caused the camera to make it lighter to capture all the details.

Other than the color temp being a bit blueish, the flowers look mostly purple to me. Dropping the exposure a bit and adding in some contrast might help. And as someone mentioned it could be a problem with your monitor's calibration. Have you tried viewing the image on a different monitor to see if the results are the same?

Its a classic case of "subject failure". In this case a color spectrum problem frequently called "the morning glory effect", after the flower of that name.