Strobes, flashgus

Goldeeno

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
goldeeno.zoto.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Im currently looking to get myself a flashgun, but dont really know much about them or what im looking for.

Ive been asked to do a wedding as a friend on the 27th december, so chances are im going to need to know how to use a flash by then.

Ive got a canon 350D, and was looking at the Canon speedlites. Ive seen the 430EX for sale for £169.99, which i thought was quite good.
But i see the 530 for alot more, im not sure of the difference.

Ive also noticed Sigma do flashguns, and they seem alot cheaper. Any advice on what to go for. I see alot of other people at weddings using the flash guns, i know im going to have to get one and find out my own way how to use it.

Anyone got some basic tips about flash photography and portrait shots?

cheers
Andrew

I'm really new to flash photography, but I still think there are certain things I know you might want for this wedding gig.

First of all, try to look for a flash that can swivel and tilt its head. I personally think this is pretty important if you're serious about getting good looking shots. Bounced light is king!

Secondly, make sure the flashgun has a reasonable guide number, or range. On-camera flash has an average range of 4 meters while some of the best flashguns illuminate 10X further than that. If you're going to be shooting in a big church and you want to be bouncing light off of walls and ceilings, a high guide number may be important. (That 430EX has a guide number of 43m @ 100ISO with a 105mm lens, and the 530 has a guide number of 58m at the same settings. So there's the main difference)