strobist help

hp1000

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I was able to borrow some lighting equipment for the weekend as an introduction to strobist work. FYI this is my first time, and I don't have a manual. I am using a pocket wizard and SB-900. I am much more familiar with the SB-600 which I have, but I cannot use the pocket wizard with it. Anyways back to my issue, I feel like there is a delay. The light is too slow for my shutter speed....please help.. Take a look at the pictures below
DSC_7609.jpg

DSC_7608.jpg

DSC_7607.jpg

Too fast of a shutter speed for syncing with the flash.

Exif says your slowest shutter speed was 1/400.. the others were 1/500 and 1/800.

Try something like 1/160, or 1/200.

Your D300s should be capable of doing high speed sync, but I literally know nothing about that - doesn't really matter to me since I have a cheapo Rebel - so I can't help there.

^ I'm reasonably sure that you can do HSS with a pocketwizard too, maybe depending on which type of pocketwizard.

Your shutter is too high or fast so you see a portion of the shutter curtain going through all three frames. Your camera has a max speed sync. Not sure what it is but I'll bet its in your manual. And you can use triggers with an SB600. I do with mine, not sure why pocket wizards wouldn't work if they cheap ones do.

Your shooting a stool!!!!!!!....why is your shutter speed so high???????.....keep it in your camera's sync range.

The new Flex PW to another Flex PW can do HSS. Most of the time you are OCF you will not go above 200 Anyway. Your 300s should go to 320 Though.

Like it has been said, you can use a PW with your SB600. You just need a hotshoe.