Suggestion on buying sub-US$400 digital camera

hemang

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
This is just my 2nd thread and sorry if I am posting in wrong forum or if the questions are silly.
I am just an amateur photographer, not at all an expert. But I like taking pictures.
In the past I have used Minolta SLR with film. The results were very good. However got tired of carrying the camera and spare lens so shifted to compact digital camera in 2004. Since then have used Sony DSC P100, Canon Powershot 640 and now Canon Powershot 720. I like the Canon cameras as they have manual controls. The colors also seem natural unlike Sony, which seemed artificially rich.
Now I want to buy a DSLR or Fixed Lens Camera with a large diameter lens and high Zoom. A DSLR may be too heavy and bulky to carry around but I am not sure if the fixed lens camera will give similar results.
Can I have some suggestions?
Which manufacturer to select from Canon, Nikon, Sony, Panasonic? Or any other??

Your in the right forum but you have to many variables. Decide using Google or similar the type of camera you need then people can try to advise. a dslr is completely different to a fixed large zoom. If your budget is rigid you can pretty much rule out a dslr unless its a bit older and secondhand.

Try http://www.dpreview.com it's got an awesome compare tool :)
I just got a Nikon p7000 for a friend and it's a great little camera. Nice controls, especially like the full manual option. It even works wirelessly with my Nikon flashes.
The canon g12 is a great camera too. I have been wanting to pick one up to keep in my purse.

Last edited:
Oh btw.... Adorama and b&h photo have awesome used departments. Lots of good deals :) they are very accurate on their descriptions and have decent return policies.... Check them out.

What type of photography you are going after?

General photography such as events documenting?
Macro photography?
Action sports type?