Suggestions, anyone?

koskilla

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Does anyone have a suggestion for these photographs? I'm just getting into photography, so any pointers whould be awesome. Thanks.

crazysky4.jpg

DSC_0042.jpg

DSC_0019.jpg

P1010113.jpg

I have some more I would like to hear about, but I was just curious to what you had to say about these for now. Go ahead and say what you think, I will take all the critisism as constructive.

Thanks a lot.

photo #1 main things i noticed, watch your horizon line, its abit crooked and dead center. #2 carefull on cropping and pose. looks as if she only has one arm and no hands... but i like that she is off center. #3 play around with long shutter speeds... leave the shutter open for a softer look on the water. and possibly a different angle on the creek. #4 Perfect! looks like a nice playful shot to me...
good work, keep shooting!

Ok, thanks for the quick response!

df3photo said:
photo #1 main things i noticed, watch your horizon line, its abit crooked and dead center. #2 carefull on cropping and pose. looks as if she only has one arm and no hands... but i like that she is off center. #3 play around with long shutter speeds... leave the shutter open for a softer look on the water. and possibly a different angle on the creek. #4 Perfect! looks like a nice playful shot to me...
good work, keep shooting!

The fourth is really funny and I like that one very much!

I find no fault in the third, the area is beautiful and I think you framed it well, all I'd try would be to enhance contrasts and therefore (along with it) colour saturation a bit (often the colours come out more intensely if you lower the brightness just a little and move up contrasts, also only a little - works wonders with many of my photos).

The expression of the girl in Photo 2 is very nice, but I'd totally crop this one. Make it vertical (portrait style) and crop it where her hair ends. (If you then still have a custom sized photo, though, I don't know).