Suggestions for lenses

billyboybad

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Friends,

I have Nikon D40X & D7000, 18-55mm vr, 18-105mm vr, 55-200mm vr, 70-300mm vr.

Flash : yongnuo YN560 & YN565EX

I want to reduce my weight & hence want to go for less numbers.

Was looking for, nikon 18-300mm vr but I am really disappointed with it's review, am also looking for 18-200mm vr II, then I came across tamron 18-270mm, which is much economical.

I am looking for something like 18-300mm & 150-500mm, I am not a pro, please pardon me if I am not able to express in pro photo language, but I think people understand.

I am looking for vr & economy Lenses, non nikkor is also not a problem.

Last edited:
Why not just sell the 18-55 and 55-200?

"All-in-one" superzooms tend to be poor performers in the IQ arena.

"All-in-one" superzooms tend to be poor performers in the IQ arena.

+1 to what 480sparky said.

In general, the larger the zoom range (difference of focal lengths) in a lens, the more 'corners' had to be cut to keep the lens reasonably light weight, keep the price down, and produce an acceptable picture. I thought my Canon 18-135 was the cats' meow 18 months ago until I read a couple of reviews on it. That and needing a flash for indoor work with the 18-135 convinced me to upgrade to better glass.

I think the number of 'pretty good to better' super-zoom lenses with an 6x magification ratio (max focal length/min focal length) or greater is quite small. While it sounds like a great idea, the loss of image quality may exceed the 'value' of having that lens in the first place. In short, check all the reviews you can find about the lens(es) you are considering and make an informed decision.