T2i thoughts and advice re: good deal?

allthingsapple

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi all,

I am very close to buying my first dSLR. I have my heart set on the Canon T2i, and think I have found what appears to be a good deal, but being a newbie, would appreciate any thoughts.

I would like to buy the T2i camera body only, which I have found from a website called Thunder Cameras for $299. I then want to buy a 50mm 1.4 lens, which I have found on Amazon for $359. If I were to purchase these, it would mean I could get the camera and a very nice lens for just under $700, which sure seems like a good deal to me. But hey--I'm a newbie, so WHO KNOWS!! :lol:

I am so glad to have found this site as I know so many people here have tons of experience and good advice, so any such information that you could share would be most appreciated!

Many thanks!

Y-I-K-E-S! (Said by Shaggy with Scooby in the background)...

Thank you! See, this is what I mean. Had no idea, but after reading reviews, well, let's just say I now have an idea!

Okay, so maybe around $1100 for camera body and good lens, and peace of mind that I bought from a good place.

Looks like I have some more work cut out for me............guess I'll do a search on TPF to see if anyone has recommended good places to buy online.

Again, thanks!!

Maybe it is a canon T2, not T2i LOL

Hi! I am in the market for a T2i as well, planning to purchase this week. I have pretty much spent my entire day off researching and looking for the best price, and so far the best I have found is at Costco, the T2i with the 18-55mm IS lens and the 50-250mm IS lens, comes with a memory card and a case. It will probably be my choice. Newegg.com had the camera with the 18-55mm IS lens for $799, and the 50-250 mm IS lens for $210 if that helps. I didn't see what the price was for just the camera body there.