Tack sharp group photo question

NaturalLight

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi, I'm new here. first time posting. I've been wondering what some of you set your aperture at for a larger group of people of about 7? I know most people say an f8 or higher, but I've found that my images aren't as sharp as I would like even with a fast shutter speed. I shoot with a 50mm 1.4 and a 1.2 if I rent it. Thanks, I'd appreciate to know what your basic settings are. I shoot all in manual mode

Are you using multiple off camera lights? I shoot around f/11 if i shoot a group indoors. I set the remote lighting for that aperture on most of my group shots.

Are you using multiple off camera lights? I shoot around f/11 if i shoot a group indoors. I set the remote lighting for that aperture on most of my group shots.

Thanks for responding. I'm a strictly natural light photographer and I'm not familiar with remote lighting. I took the group shots outside on an overcast day. I'm a relative noob here, if you wouldn't mind explaining remote lighting I would appreciate it, Thanks!

You neglected to indicate what 'fast shutter speed' was. I'm guessing that you were shooting with too slow a shutter speed to stop subject (and your) movement.

Although the 'general rule' regarding action-stopping is shutter speeds of 1/<focal length> or 1/50th using a 50mm lens, I like to stay in the 1/100 and faster regardless of focal length. As I do a lot of indoor photography without a flash primarily with my 24-105, the faster speeds work regardless of where I am zoomed in or out.