Taking a photo of a light tube (fluorescent light)

AnrBjotk

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi,
I'm an artist, and for a sculpture I need to take a photo of a fluorescent light standing against a white wall. But, I just can't do it. Either the tube becomes a large white blob, or everything is black.
Please, please, what setting can I use?

Looking forward to a reply.

(here is an example:) $tatlin.jpg

If you're shooting with a dslr or and camera with full manual, just lower the exposure so you dont blow the lights out.
Raise the shutter speed or lower the aperture to do this.

If you're using a simple P&S, just lower the exposure compensation, this will lower the exposure too.

If you're shooting with a dslr or and camera with full manual, just lower the exposure so you dont blow the lights out.
Raise the shutter speed or lower the aperture to do this.

If you're using a simple P&S, just lower the exposure compensation, this will lower the exposure too.

I use a Nikon D60 reflex camera. I made a tiny amount of progress today with Shutter 1/25 and F 5,6.
What do you mean by lowering exposure? You mean a high shutter speed? And low aperture like I tried? Do you have any approximate values I can use in terms of shutter etc?

Namaste,
Anr

Put the camera into manual (exposure) mode. If you have a tripod to hold the camera, that would be idea.

Adjust the shutter speed and aperture until the exposure scale is at zero ---0---. Take a shot, see if you like it. If not, then adjust the exposure a little bit (either shutter speed, aperture or ISO) and shoot again.

It should not take long to figure out what exposure will get you closest to what you want.

Put the camera into manual (exposure) mode. If you have a tripod to hold the camera, that would be idea.