Taking pictures of minors...

Rebekah5280

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am a busy family portrait photographer in WA.
I had a request from two boys who wanted to get their pictures taken to give to their mom for Christmas. How sweet! <3 Their nanny (who I have taken pictures for on many occasions throughout the past year) offered to bring them so they could keep the pictures a surprise for their mom.
I had said of course! How sweet and fun!!!! BUT... then I started thinking.. can I do that??? Without parental permission???

Can anyone help me out with this?? I've never came across this before.

Thanks!!
~Rebekah

I would go for it. It's not like you're at a school playground un-invited. Go in knowing that the only use those photos will get is when they're handed to parent. You just won't be padding your portfolio with them.

If they are coming with the nanny i cant see a problem because the mother has handed over parental control

Sent from my GT-I9100P using Tapatalk 2

I would go for it. It's not like you're at a school playground un-invited. Go in knowing that the only use those photos will get is when they're handed to parent. You just won't be padding your portfolio with them.

^ +1
Also, just make sure the nanny is there, within sight of the boys, the entire time. That might just be my Boy Scout leader "Youth Protection" training kicking in, but I'd make sure I was absolutely NEVER completely alone with the boys.

A minor's signature on a contract is not legally binding, unless the minor is emancipated, which isn't going to be the case for 13 year olds.

Unless a nanny has Power of Attorney, a nanny cannot sign in place of a parent.

So the project has other legal issues to consider before you think about actually making photos.