Tamron 28-200 Lens

Excellent ideas! I am rather new to photography and am just learning how to use my camera. Shooting sports is hard for a beginer therefore, I have been shooting in "Auto" mode. Could you explain "stop down the lens"?

Excellent ideas! I am rather new to photography and am just learning how to use my camera. Shooting sports is hard for a beginer therefore, I have been shooting in "Auto" mode. Could you explain "stop down the lens"?

Sure thing! When I say "stop down," I mean when you lower the aperture from max. For example if you had that f/2.8 lens, at f/2.8 only a very thin area of the image would be in focus. If you were to stop down to f/5.6, a wider area would be in focus, but you'd have to sacrific your shutter speed to keep the picture exposed (otherwise it would get progressively darker the more you stop down, until numbers like f/32.0 were it's almost black. Here's an easy example for your D7000: Turn the dial to put the camera into "Av" mode. This is "aperture priority," where you adjust the aperture of the lens with the command dial, but the camera does [almost] everything else. Look through your viewfinder at something, and this is that lens "wide open." Turn the command dial to an higher aperture number, for example f/16. Now look back through the finder, and press the DOF preview button, on the right side of the lens mount. It won't take a picture, but it'll stop down the lens and your viewfinder should be a bit darker, but you might notice more is in focus.

So if I were you, shooting sports, I'd probably use the camera on the Av mode, and turn that dial to keep it as wide open as possible. This will make the camera choose a faster shutter speed. If you're still getting blurry shots, you could raise your ISO. With the D7000 you have pretty awesome ISO performance, so I wouldn't be afraid to use 3200 or even 6400. Shoot, maybe even higher if they're not going to be printed very big or anything.