tax on out of state clients?

shannonrae

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I think I already know the answer and I have left a message with my accountant. I had a client visit her mother from out of state and had a session done while she was here. She left to return home a couple of days later and now I have her session finished for purchase. Since the session occurred here in my state (Michigan), but she lives and is purchasing the photos from her state (Washington), do I have to charge her sales tax? I wouldn't think so, but I'm not 100% sure. Thanks for your help!

Disclaimer: I am not a lawyer or CPA, nor do I live in your state...

Sales tax should only apply to prints, your time is not taxable other than income taxes. If you sold prints to this person I am 100% sure they are taxable otherwise you may want to consider getting a CPA to help.

In my state, if I deliver the goods out of state-they're not taxable by me. The client is responsible for paying sales tax due in their own state. You know that thing on your state income tax where it asks about purchases made out of state that you may owe tax on? That's it! Now if she were to come to your office to pick up the prints? Then it is taxable by you. Consider when you order something on-line from another state. Unless that store has a presence in your state, you don't pay sales tax. I have all of my adorama purchases shipped to my son who lives out of state. That way I do not have to pay sales tax. When you are purchasing a few grand in equipment? That's a chunk of change! So living outside NY state you can order from Adorama and not pay sales tax. However, if you visit NYC and purchase something from their store you pay sales tax because it is delivered within the state of NY where Adorama has sales tax jurisdiction.