Technically Amazing Movies?

NeverGlassImaging

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I'm posting this on a photo forum because I am tired of noobs who have no idea what I am talking about.

As a photographer, I see right away when movies have incredible production values, like great lighting, sharpness, frame composition, post production, etc. Adversely, I see when movies are terribly lit, exposed, processed and directed.

So like I said, my definition of a technically amazing movie is one with superb lighting, exposure, sharpness, composition, post processing, and directing.
NOT JUST YOUR 'FAVOURITE MOVIE'.

A perfect example of a technically magnificent movie is Requiem for a Dream, or Sin City, The Game, 2001 Odyssey, The Machinist.

I am looking to find more movies that have amazing technical values and knew that if anyone could recognize it, it would be fellow photo-philes.

:D

Last edited:
Citizen Kane
/thread.

Anything by Stanley Kubrick, lol.

2001 will give you a new appreciation for 'sharpness' (and it was filmed in 1967 - I think).

The entire movie was filmed on 70mm film... Which is pretty much unheard of. I think you could count the other '70mm movies' on one hand...
Just think - 70mm, that's roughly 4 times the resolution of most other movies. (4 times the surface area of the film anyway...)

Do your self a favor and watch the blu-ray on an HD TV. Mind blowing sharpness. Makes everything else look like it was filmed on an iPhone.
Not to mention that all of the special effects were done in camera...!

Barry Lyndon - well, he had to invent a lens to film that.
Untitled Document

...I can't think of anything else that tops that.

Last edited:
I'm a noob when it comes to the technical aspects of movies but the first one that came to my mind was "Apocalypse Now".