Test shoot before the shoot?

Cinka

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey everyone, I have a pretty important shoot coming up and have placed ads on various sites in search of models. I've gotten a good response and have narrowed it down. However, since I've never worked with these models before, I'm wondering if I should ask them to test shoot before the big shoot? Does anyone else do this?

Thanks!

~Kristen

Not my area of expertise, but I would say it sounds like common sense to me if you can. The more prep work you do before hand, the better off you will be; you could find that one of these models can't/won't pose the way you want, or doesn't work for your particular scenario. Better off to know that ahead of time than to have to worry about it the day of.

Are you more worried about the model or about yourself?

To a professional model, it might seem unprofessional if you need them to help you 'practice'. But if you are willing to pay (or compensate) them for their time, I don't think that most would care.

Would it be enough for you to use a friend or family member to test with?

If it is a really big/important shoot, you will probably have back up equipment, in case something breaks or stops working. You should probably have back-up models. Or at least some cross over, in case one (or more) don't show up or don't work out.

Are you more worried about the model or about yourself?

To a professional model, it might seem unprofessional if you need them to help you 'practice'. But if you are willing to pay (or compensate) them for their time, I don't think that most would care.

Would it be enough for you to use a friend or family member to test with?

If it is a really big/important shoot, you will probably have back up equipment, in case something breaks or stops working. You should probably have back-up models. Or at least some cross over, in case one (or more) don't show up or don't work out.