Testing the waters in photography.

EmoLip

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I finally got a decent camera to test the waters in photography. My husband and I just bought a Canon Rebel XTi. So far we love the camera. But here's a few shots we took the other day. If you could, tell me what you think and how I can fix my picture taking for the better. Keep in mind I'm new at this and I haven't had enough time to fully figure out the camera.

IMG_0226.jpg

IMG_0223.jpg

IMG_0189.jpg

With the zoom lens
IMG_0244.jpg

I know its a picture of a sticker on a lawn chair, but I thought it was neat.
IMG_0262.jpg

Just a random one but i was amazed at the clarity of the picture.
IMG_0077.jpg

Welcome to the forum and congrats on the new camera! The first two shots I'm going to stay away from because I don't know the first thing about photographing cars. They seem pretty good to me, but what is on the top of the car in the second?

For the portrait of the girl, move the chair out of there and have her stand in the same place she was sitting if you like the wooden rail and trees as a background. Have your husband (or whoever) hold a piece of something white (foam core, styrofoam, even a sheet of paper) angled up at her face but not TOO close. This will reflect some light up into her eyes which gives more life to a portrait and is more flattering. It also looks a little overexposed. The chair and the highlights on the railing and her shirt are a bit too bright and you're starting to lose detail in them. Are you using automatic settings?