The Big Two

Tasmaster

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Since i can't get it locked i might as well delete it. My bad, lesson learned.

Last edited:
Hey, I recognize that thread!

However, I have learned that it's almost not worth weighing in on a topic like this. I'm a serious amateur (at best, lol) and I would not shoot anything outside of Nikon or Canon. The best reason I can possibly give you, is that I have had positive experiences with both in the past. But... to each his/her own. It's not a reflection of how I feel about the other brands by any stretch.

Last edited:
If "Billy Bob's" Nifty Neato DSLR system fits your needs and does the job, why not? I'm a Canon shooter because I liked the bodies better and the range of lenses was what I needed. Some of the other systems didn't have lenses to fit my needs, and some didn't have bodies that I liked.

This from a very dedicated Nikon user for 30 years in the film world. It comes down for me, what I like best and fills my needs. If Billy Bob comes out with a body I like and the lenses that fit my needs then Billy Bob gets my business. That is what keeps Fuji in the DSLR market. Bodies that fit needs with the entire Nikon lens system available for them.

I use whatever rig is at hand to meet my needs. This may be anything from a digital to an old film tlr. I see no reason to restrict myself. My interest is the finished picture -- not what I used to get there.

Cool answers all, but they don't answer my questions at all :)

Cool answers all, but they don't answer my questions at all :)

I) Is my information correct?
Basically.

II) Why should i, as either a) a professional or b) a serious amateur, at this time choose any brand outside Nikon and Canon?
What part of this doesn't answer this question?